Newsletter

on

(dunno why ye’re getting this? want off? reply ‘unsubscribe’…. all is well. 🙂 _______________________________________________________

Hello friends/enemies/other (circle applicable) – It’s been very close to a year since I sent the last of these infrequent newsletters, and in this time I’ve been just about every direction ‘cept North, it seems. So I s’pose I should have lots to share. You know how time makes memories and experiences all sorta squish together- kinda like fruitcake? There’s no tellin’ what any of them colorful morsels use’ta be, but it makes fer a fine conversation-piece ….

…. I’m gonna cut right to the quick. I have a new album!!! We can all have virtual friends! I might soon be playin’ the banjo near you!!

An introspective newsletter is forthcoming. Until then, this will hafta do. Please have lovely days, keep in touch and I hope to see each of you very soon.

Yer friend – Andru 🙂 _______________________________________________________

– NEW ALBUM!!! —– {http://r2r.andrubemis.com} —— _______________________________________________________

I’m pleased to announce that Wepecket Island Records {http://wepecket.com} has released my new album, “Rail to Reel.” Many thanks are due to you who’ve so patiently awaited this release; it would seem that record-label land operates on train-schedule time. Learn more, listen, and order a copy or two fer yer very self here: {http://r2r.andrubemis.com}.

Originally intended as a simple EP featuring original adaptations of a few cover songs I’d been playing to pass the time at train stations (Two Dollar Bill, Crawdad, Hound Dawg,…), “Rail to Reel” has blossomed into a thirteen song album of carefully selected traditional tunes and a handful of Bemis originals. Featuring guest appearances on the pump organ, tuba, piano, upright bass, washboard and a host of other wonderful unpluggable machines by some of my very most favoritist friends and musicians- Rachel Ries {“*” = see weblink below}, Rich Burnett {*}, Mike Reeb {*}, Jeremy Keen {*}, Derek Kratzer {*}, Liam Idiot, Karl Andrews, Todd Burdick, Phil Leonard, Rick Swanson, my dad, two brothers (that’s four BEE-mye fer the price of one, y’know) and a few wanderin’ tramps.

…. Also, keep an ear open for the upcoming August co-release of a limited-edition record and accompanying CD with the incomparable Jason Webley {*}. _______________________________________________________

– NEW FANSITE! —– {http://myspace.com/andrubemis} — _______________________________________________________

Thanks to a few thoughtful friends and fans and a good fella named Mike, I’ve been propelled into the world of virtual friendship at {http://myspace.com/andrubemis}.

My poor, travelin’ laptop is ten years old and isn’t too keen on this technolalol-logy, but fer the rest of us, the new fansite is the place to find lyrics, chords and (eventually) tablature to my songs, as well as real live audio downloads, perhaps a video or two, upcoming shows and- best of all- new virtual friends of yer own (collect all three)! Post comments, write reviews, share recipes …. I don’t administer the site personally, but I do upload occasional updates and’ll do what I can to help make it interesting and useful fer you; lemme know what you’d like to see, or send a note to Mike at {bemismyspace@gmail.com}. _______________________________________________________

– NEW TOUR DATES! — {http://calendar.andrubemis.com} – _______________________________________________________

I’ve got some heavy Eastern travel plans fer the next month or so, and should be on the road a week each month through the Summer. I’m constantly scheduling new dates, so keep an eye on the online calendar fer all the latest additions. Of course, it’s never a bad idea to call a venue before driving ‘cross the country to catch a show; the world is an oft-changing place. Recommendations, advice and questions regarding booking a show near you are always welcome {booking@andrubemis.com}:

—– APR 2006 —–

– 29 APRIL (SAT) @ 8:00PM – BALTIMORE, MD Holden’s Lair Houseconcert – {http://holdenslair.blogspot.com} 4636 Walther AVE – #443.829.5159 ($10; reservations recommended)

– 30 APRIL (SUN) @ 10:30AM – WASHINGTON, DC Washington Community Fellowship – {http://wcfchurch.org} 907 Maryland Ave NE – #202.543.1926 (offertory music)

– 30 APRIL (SUN) @ 6:00PM – COLLEGE PARK, MD ‘Third Rail Radio’ @ WMUC-FM 88.1 – {http://wmucradio.com} (free on-air performance & webcast; public welcome; see website for details)

—– MAY 2006 —–

– 01 MAY (MON) @ 8:00PM – FREDERICK, MD Steve Key Showcase @ WestSide Cafe – {http://westside-cafe.com} 1A W 2nd St – #301.418.6866 ($5 suggested; featured performer; w/ Steve Key {*}, John Sonntag {*}, Richard Broadbent {*}, Ken Baldwin {*}, Doug Brouder {*} and Caleb Stine {*})

– 02 MAY (TUE) @ 10:00PM – CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA Atomic Burrito 109 2nd St SE – #434.977.0117 ($5 suggested)

– 03 MAY (WED) – (?)

– 04 MAY (THU) – LAFAYETTE, IN Crawdaddy’s Bar (w/ Mike Reeb! {*}; {mike@groundvinyl.com})

– 05 MAY (FRI) – TIFFIN, OH ‘First Fridays’ @ Ritz Theatre – {http://ritztheatre.org} 30 S Washington St – #419.448.8544 (reservations strongly recommended)

– 06-07 MAY (SAT-SUN) – ELKHART, IN ({jolietjo@aol.com})

– 08-10 MAY (MON-WED) – (?)

– 11 MAY (THU) @ 7:30PM – PHILADELPHIA, PA Germantown Mennonite Church – {http://germantownmennonite.org} 21 W Washington Ln – #215.843.5599 ($5 suggested)

– 12-15 MAY (FRI-MON) – (?)

– 16 MAY (TUE) @ 11:00PM – BROOKLYN, NY Pete’s Candy Store – {http://petescandystore.com} 709 Lorimer St – #718.302.3770

– 17 MAY (WED) @ 9:00PM – WALTHAM, MA The Skellig – {http://theskellig.com} 240 Moody St ($5 suggested; w/ Two Palms)

– 18 MAY (THU) @ 7:00PM – PORTLAND, ME Acoustic Coffee – {http://acousticcoffee.net} 32 Danforth St – #207.774.0404 (MEsongwriters.com showcase)

– 19 MAY (FRI) – (?)

– 20 MAY (SAT) @ 7:30PM – RICHMOND, VA Crossroads Coffee & Ice Cream 3600 Forest Hill Ave – #804.231.2030 ($5 suggested)

– 21 MAY (SUN) @ 9:00PM – WASHINGTON, DC Grog & Tankard – {http://grogandtankard.com} 2408 Wisconsin Ave – #202.333.3114 ($5 suggested)

– 22 MAY (MON) @ 7:30PM – ROCKY MOUNT, NC Via Cappuccino – {http://vccoffee.com} Englewood Square, 3002 Sunset Ave – #252.937.0004 ($5 suggested)

– 23 MAY (TUE) – GREENSBORO, NC Green Bean ($5 suggested; {pete@greenbeannews.com})

– 24 MAY (WED) @ 7:30PM – DECATUR, GA Eddie’s Attic – {http://eddiesattic.com} 515-B N McDonough St – #404.377.4976 (w/ Matt Williams and Sonia Leigh! {*}; reservations recommended)

– 25 MAY (THU) – (?)

– 26 MAY (FRI) – BIRMINGHAM, AL Moonlight Music Cafe – {http://moonlightmusiccafe.com} 628 Montgomery Hwy – #205.822.1400 ($12; w/ Hope For Agoldensummer! {*}; reservations strongly recommended)

– 27 MAY (SAT) – (?)

—– JUN 2006 —–

– 08 JUN (THU) – MADISON, WI ZuZu Cafe & Market – {http://thezuzucafe.com} 1336 Drake St – #608.575.2426 ($5 suggested)

– 09 JUN (FRI) – DULUTH, MN Fitger’s Brewhouse – {http://brewhouse.net} 600 E Superior St – #218.279.BREW (w/ Anthony Newes! {*})

—– JUL 2006 —–

– 02 JUL (SUN) @ 9:00PM – CHICAGO, IL ’15 Years, 15 Days’ @ Uncommon Ground Coffeehouse- {http://uncommonground.com} 3800 N Clark St – #773.929.3680 ($5 suggested; w/ very special guests!; reservations strongly recommended)

– 06 JUL (THU) – LAWRENCE, KS Gaslight Tavern & Coffeehouse – {http://gaslighttavern.com} 317 N 2nd St – #785.856.4330 ($3)

– 07 JUL (FRI) – DEKALB, IL The House – {http://thehousecafe.net} 263 E Lincoln Hwy – #815.748.2880

– 08 JUL (SAT) – SAVANNA, IL ({owlgrove@gmail.com})

– 14 JUL (FRI) @ 9:00PM – KALAMAZOO, MI Kraftbrau Brewery – {http://kraftbraubrewery.com} 402 E Kalamazoo Ave – #616.384.0288 (w/ Curtis Eller! {*})

—– AUG 2006 —–

– 11 AUG (FRI) – SEATTLE, WA (CD release w/ Jason Webley! {*})

– 12 AUG (SAT) – BELLINGHAM, WA Subdued Stringband Jamboree – {http://sameroomrecords.com} (w/ Robert Blake! {*})

– 16 AUG (WED) – PORTLAND, OR (CD release w/ Jason Webley! {*})

– 17 AUG (THU) – EUGENE, OR (CD release w/ Jason Webley! {*})

– 18 AUG (FRI) – TBA (CD release w/ Jason Webley! {*})

– 19 AUG (SAT) – SAN FRANCISCO, CA (CD release w/ Jason Webley! {*})

– 20 AUG (SUN) – OAKLAND, CA (CD release w/ Jason Webley! {*})

—– OCT 2006 —–

– 10 OCT (TUE) – CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA Starr Hill – {http://starrhill.com}

—– MAY 2007 —–

– 15 MAY (TUE) – PRINCE FREDERICK, MD ‘Tuesday Tunes’ @ Calvert Public Library – {http://calvert.lib.md.us} _____________________________________________________

– WEBSITES & LINKS ———————————- _____________________________________________________

—– ARTISTS —–

* Ken Baldwin – {http://kenbaldwin.biz} * Robert Blake – {http://sameroomrecords.com} * Richard Broadbent – {http://browoowho.com} * Doug Brouder – {http://myspace.com/dougbrouderandtheincredibleoccasionals} * Rich Burnett – {http://richburnett.com} * Curtis Eller – {http://curtiseller.com} * Hope For Agoldensummer – {http://hopeforagoldensummer.com} * Jeremy Keen – {http://seventytwoothers.com} * Steve Key – {http://stevekey.com} * Derek Kratzer – {http://goldminepickers.com} * Sonia Leigh – {http://myspace.com/sonialeigh} * Anthony Newes – {http://myspace.com/anthonynewes} * Mike Reeb – {http://mikereeb.com} * Rachel Ries – {http://rachelries.com} * John Sonntag – {http://johnsonntag.com} * Caleb Stine – {http://calebstine.com} * Jason Webley – {http://jasonwebley.com}

—– OTHERS —–

* MEsongwriters.com – {http://mesongwriters.com} * Wepecket Island Records – {http://wepecket.com} _____________________________________________________

– MAILING LIST INFO ——————————— _____________________________________________________

– Name: – Email: – City, State:

(Have you moved or changed your email address? Please advise me of any changes, corrections or additions so you don’t receive any unnecessary emails from me.) _____________________________________________________

– THE END ————— Thanks fer reading! ——- _____________________________________________________

Andru Bemis – {https://andrubemis.com} POB 172, South Haven, MI 49090-0172, USA